Do you want to know if your friends will know that you have deleted your Snapchat account? Well, we’ve got you covered.
You may be considering deleting your Snapchat account and are wondering if your friends will be notified, or if they will find out.
We will explain everything you need to know.
Let’s get right into this!
Will my friends know if I delete my Snapchat account?
Your Snapchat friends will not be notified when you delete your account. Snapchat has a 30-day time period before your account is fully deleted. During the 30-day period, your account is deactivated, so your friends will still see your account. After 30 days, your account will be deleted, and it won’t be visible.
Now, we will expand upon this.
When you first delete your Snapchat account, you are actually deactivating it for 30 days.
Snapchat has this feature in case you change your mind.
So, if you log in to your account again within the time period, you will still have all your chats, friends, and Snap memories. Essentially, nothing will be deleted.
Also, you may find our article on “Do Snapchat Friend Requests Expire?” useful and interesting.
Will Snapchat friends be notified if I deactivate my account?
When you deactivate your Snapchat account, your friends will not be notified.
However, they will not be able to send you messages. They may think you have blocked them because of the response they get from Snapchat.
Then, after 30 days, your account will be fully deleted.
You will lose everything on your account, and you will not be able to recover it.
But, it’s important to note that your friends will still not be notified when your account is fully deleted from Snapchat after the 30 day time period of your account being deactivated.
Will my Snapchat friends be notified if I delete my account?
Your Snapchat friends won’t be notified that you have deleted your account until they try and send you a message while your account is deactivated and they won’t be able to send it, and if they are able to, you won’t respond.
After your account has been fully deleted, if your Snapchat friends try and search for your account, they won’t be able to find your account or profile at all.
Your friends on Snapchat may think you have blocked them or un-added them, so it’s worth communicating with them.
Whether that’s before you deactivate your account, or after you send them a message on a different platform, or talk to them in real life.
It’s best to do this to avoid confusion and potentially damage your friendship.
How to delete your Snapchat account
Here are the steps to deactivate, and eventually delete your Snapchat account.
1. Navigate to your Snapchat profile
Firstly, you need to navigate to your Snapchat profile by tapping on your Bitmoji in the top left of Snapchat.
2. Navigate to your Snapchat settings
Secondly, you need to navigate to your Snapchat settings by tapping on the gear icon in the top right of the profile page.
3. Tap on “Delete Account”
Next, you need to scroll down through the settings until you see the option for “Delete Account”.
This option is quite near the bottom, so you will need to scroll quite a long way.
Once you see it, tap on it.
4. Log in to your Snapchat account
Now, a browser will open inside of Snapchat and you will be taken to the accounts page on the Snapchat website.
Log in with your details.
5. Enter your Snapchat password again
Once you have logged in to Snapchat, you will be taken to a page titled “Delete account”.
Snapchat will give you some important information about what will happen when you choose to delete your account.
As we mentioned earlier, at first your account will be deactivated for 30 days. Then, it will be deleted.
But, if you change your mind while your account is still deactivated, then you can reactivate it by logging back in.
So, at the bottom of the page, you need to enter your password and tap on “Continue”.
After you tap on “Continue”, your Snapchat account will be deactivated!
6. Reactivate your Snapchat account
If you change your mind and want to reactivate your account, then you need to enter your details and tap on “Log in” on the Snapchat app.
Then, a menu will pop up asking you to confirm that you would like to reactivate your account.
You just need to confirm your decision, and you can log back into your account.
We hope you found this useful and that it answered your query!
You may find our article on “Do Snapchat Calls Show Up On Phone Bill?” useful!
Rob’s social media:
Read more about GuideRealm and our editorial guidelines.