Are you trying to delete a picture on Discord on your PC or mobile? If so, this is the guide for you.
You may have sent an image by accident and want to delete it so the other person cannot see it. This guide will explain how to do this exactly.
Also, you will only be able to delete images you sent. However, there is a way to hide images others have sent to you which we will explain later in the guide.
According to Statista, Discord was counting approximately 150 million monthly active users worldwide, as of September 2021.
Table of Contents
How To Delete Picture On Discord Mobile
We will start by explaining how you can delete a picture on Discord mobile. If you don’t need to know this, then feel free to skip these steps and check out the desktop guide further down the page.
1. Find The Image You Want To Delete On Discord
Firstly, you need to find the image you want to delete on Discord.
This could be in a server, direct message, group message or, any type of Discord chat.
Once you’ve found it, you can move on to the next step.
2. Hold Your Finger On The Area Around The Image
Secondly, you need to hold your finger on the area around the image.
Then, a list of options will pop-up.
If you try and hold the image itself, it won’t work.
3. Tap On “Delete Message”
Next, you need to tap on “Delete Message”.
Discord will ask you to confirm if you really want to delete the image.
Just remember, when you delete the image you won’t be able to get it back, so you could take a screenshot of it so you will still have a copy of it.
Now you have deleted the image from Discord!
How To Delete Picture On Discord PC
Next, we will explain how you can delete a picture on Discord on your PC or laptop.
1. Locate The Picture You Want To Delete
Firstly, you need to find the image or picture you want to delete.
It can be on a server, a direct message, a group chat, or any chat on Discord – it doesn’t matter.
Once you have located the image, you can continue with the next step.
2. Right Click Anywhere On The Message
Secondly, you need to right click anywhere on the message.
This will bring up a menu.
3. Click “Delete Message”
Next, you need to go to the bottom of the menu and click “Delete Message”.
You will need to confirm your choice of deleting the image.
Also, you should consider taking a screen shot or saving the image to your computer before you delete in case you need it again.
You have now deleted the image from Discord!
How To Hide Images Sent To You On Discord By Another User
Unfortunately, you cannot delete images which have been sent to you on Discord at the moment.
However, there are ways that you can hide images which have been sent to you.
Hide Images Sent To You In A Direct Message
The best way to hide images sent in a direct message, is to close the DM.
Closing the DM will not remove any message conversation history, but will be hidden from your direct message list unless you receive another message from the Discord user or if you send them a message by restarting a conversation from their user profile.
Also, if you wish to not receive any further images or messages from the user, you should block them.
Alternatively, you could ask the user who sent the image to delete it.
How To Close A Direct Message
Here are the quick steps to close a direct message which will hide the images which have been sent to you.
Find the message you want to close in the “Direct Message” list.
If you’re on Discord Mobile:
Hold your finger on the chat and a menu will appear.
There will be a “Close DM” button on the menu.
Tap on it, and the DM will be hidden.
Or, if you’re on Discord PC:
Right click on the DM and a menu will appear.
You will see on the menu a “Close DM” button.
Click on it and the DM will be hidden.
Hide Images Sent To You In Group Chats And Servers
At the moment, the best way to hide images sent to you in group chats and servers is to completely leave the group or server.
However, you could try, and ask the user who sent the image to delete it, but unfortunately, other users may not follow through with your request.
How To Leave A Server Or Group Chat
Here are the easy steps to leave a server or group chat.
Firstly, find the server or group chat which you want to leave.
If you’re on Discord mobile:
To leave a server, go in to the server and tap on the name or the three dots.
Then, a menu will appear and you will need to scroll down and tap on “Leave Server”.
To leave a group, hold your finger on the group from your direct messages and tap on “Leave Group”.
If you’re on Discord PC:
Right click on the server or group chat which you want to leave.
Then, you can click on “Leave Group”.
Or, you can click on “Leave Server”.
Now you know exactly how to delete pictures on Discord and how to hide pictures on Discord as well!
We hope you found this guide useful.
Read more about GuideRealm here.