Are you trying to delete a TikTok story? If so, this guide will show you exactly how.
You may have accidentally posted a video to your story, or you may have changed your mind about posting the video. Regardess, with the help of this guide, you will be able to remove it.
According to Statista, the United States has the largest TikTok audience. As of January 2022, 131 million users were engaging with the popular social video platform.
Lets get right in to this!
1. Open the TikTok app
Firstly, you need to open the TikTok app and log-in or switch to the of which you want to delete the story.
2. Navigate to your TikTok profile
Secondly, you need to navigate to your TikTok profile.
Tap on the “Profile” button which has an icon which looks like a singular person.
You will find the button in the bottom right of TikTok on the navigation bar.
3. Open your TikTok story
Next, you need to open your TikTok story.
Your TikTok story will be in your video feed. It will either be the most recent video, or if you have any videos pinned, it will appear after them.
Also, it will be labeled “Story” and the amount of videos on your story will be shown as well.
Once you have found it, tap on it.
4. Delete your TikTok story
Now, if you have multiple videos on your TikTok story, you need to make sure you are on the video you want to delete.
Once you are on the video you want to delete, tap on the three horizontal dots in the bottom right of the video.
Then, you will get a menu titled “More” and a few options.
You need to tap on “Delete” button which has the icon as a trash can.
You will then need to confirm your decision to delete your story by tapping on “Delete” again.
Make sure you are aware that you will not be able to recover the story once you delete it. If you think you may regret your decision to delete your story, you should save it.
When you tap on the three horizontal dots, there will be an option for “Save video”.
Tap on this option and your story will be saved to your camera roll.
Your story will now be deleted!
What is a TikTok story?
The story feature is becoming a popular feature on most social media platforms.
The story feature allows you to post a video which you don’t want to remain on your main video feed because stories expire after 24 hours and will no longer be available to watch.
Often, influencers use it to show their day to life to their followers.
Essentially, the difference between a story and a usual post on TikTok is that the story will expire after 24 hours and will no longer be on your feed. Where as a TikTok post will be available on your feed to be watched until you delete it.
However, users can like other people’s TikTok stories and also comment which can’t be done on Instagram stories.
You can view a user’s stories by scrolling through your following feed in the home section of the app. Alternatively, you can also view a user’s story by going directly to their profile as well.
Similarly to a normal TikTok video, you won’t be able to see a user’s story if their account is private and you don’t follow them.
Can you recover or un-delete a TikTok story?
At the moment, you cannot recover or un-delete a TikTok story.
Before you delete your TikTok story, you should always download or save it to your camera roll.
You can do this by tapping on the three horizontal dots in the bottom right of the story when you are watching and a menu will pop up.
Then, you can tap on “Save video” and the video will be downloaded and saved to your camera roll.
When did TikTok release the story feature?
TikTok released the story feature in March 2022.
It made sense to add the feature to their platform because most social media platforms seem to have it and TikTok needs to keep up with their competitors.
Now you know to delete your TikTok story!
As we mentioned earlier, you cannot recover or un-delete a TikTok story, so make sure you save it before deleting it, as otherwise you won’t be able to see it again!
Read more about GuideRealm here.